O‘ahu Association

OAUCC Fall Mokupuni First Chinese 2019-1
OAUCC youth.png
OAUCC women.jpg

Click to learn more:

Vision Statement 

The O‘ahu Association is called to be a community of churches and authorized ministers covenanted in Jesus Christ to celebrate and proclaim the reign of God in word and deed.


Goal Statement 

Through the leading of God’s Spirit, we help nurture and sustain local churches—laity, clergy, and other authorized ministers—in the proclamation of the Reign of God in Jesus Christ by:

  1. Bringing together enriching relationships within our association through working together with one another, for example: (relational leadership formation)

    • Monthly clergy gatherings

    • Mokupuni gatherings

    • Churches mentoring one another, identifying needs and working together

    • Supporting settings for Christian formation for children, youth, and adults.

  2. Enabling the mission and work of the local churches, the Hawai‘i Conference, the United Church of Christ, and O‘ahu Association through:

    • Encouraging support of Our Church’s Wider Mission

    • Providing opportunities for churches to gather and share ideas and collaborate in various ministries.

  3. Celebrating in worship with local churches on special occasions such as ordinations, installations, and anniversaries. (Worship forms us as the Body of Christ.)

  4. Caring for ministers and churches through, for example:

    • Granting and reviewing standing of local churches and ministers (congregational and ministerial formation)

    • Seeking out, nurturing and developing those called to and preparing for volunteer and professional ministry, lay and ordained

    • Providing continuing education and training for clergy and laity cooperatively with the Hawai‘i Conference (faith and theological formation)

    • And other needs as identified.

OAUCC Board of Directors

President: Wayne Ibara, Makiki Christian Church, Honolulu 

Vice President: Roy Yamauchi, Kailua Christian Church

Treasurer: Miguel Asuncion, Central Union Church, Honolulu

Secretary: Lori Yamashiro, Nu‘uanu Congregational Church, Honolulu

Clay Kimoto, Pearl City Community Church

Rick Tsujimura, Makiki Christian Church, Honolulu 

Lauren Buck Medeiros, Central Union Church, Honolulu

Makana Milotta, Waipahu UCC

Joan Sakaba, Kailua Christian Church

Martin Zorn, Waiokeola Congregational Church, Honolulu


Clergy Gatherings: 1st Wednesday of each month

Committee on Ministry: 2nd Wednesday of each month

Executive Committee: 2nd Thursday of every other month

Board of Directors: 2nd Thursday of every other month

Staff Contacts:

Association Matters:

Committee on Ministry Matters:

David Popham


1848 Nu‘uanu Avenue

Honolulu, HI 96817


O‘ahu Association

1848 Nu‘uanu Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96817